Happy New Year

2 Jan

This has been the most incredible week I’ve experienced in a very long time (and I’ve been around for more than 3,000 weeks).  On December 19th my step son and his wife had a baby boy, their first, and our first grandchild, Austin Vaughn.  Two days later my son and his soon-to-be bride (and two dogs) arrived on our doorstep from Chicago, beginning a week of wedding festivities.   Christmas fell in the middle of this week bringing along its myriad of hubbub.  Each day brought new guests to stay in my modest home– the wedding officiant, brother of the bride, maid of honor…and did I mention with my 2 dogs and my son’s 2 dogs, there were 4 dogs running around.  It was a crazy,  incredibly fun time.  In addition to stuffing gift bags, making the wedding cake, trips to the pediatrician, wrapping presents, manicures, hair and make-up, there was that post-rehearsal dinner beer pong party in my back yard until 3am.  There will be more posts to follow on this topic but suffice it to say, the most adorable baby boy is now a part of our family.  The sweetest ceremony gave me the most wonderful daughter-in-law I could have ever imagined.

So much to be grateful for as I enter this new year.

20140102-110130.jpg

20140102-110203.jpg

One Response to “Happy New Year”

  1. Tracy Hauser January 5, 2014 at 7:42 pm #

    Awww so cute!!! Missing it all so much!

Leave a Reply

