Labor Day Lessons

2 Sep

It’s Labor Day weekend, 2012.  Labor Day always represents
the closure of summer. Summer represents respite to me…days spent at the
beach; travel to vacation destinations; a slackening of schedules and to-do
lists. But Labor Day also commemorates our days of laboring. I’d like to
share a laboring technique that doesn’t feel quite so much like labor

I’m sitting under a tent on the beach, laptop in hand with my feet buried
beneath soft, crumbly ivory colored sand. I really am working, I’m just
doing it to the accompaniment of the rhythmic sounds of a summer ocean. I’m
using technology in a way that is advantageous to me; I’m not allowing it to
use me (at least not at the moment). My cell phone is near by, as are the
sandpipers and ruddy turnstones with their punk rocker hairdos. (Seagull
relatives)

Let’s face it, most of us have to work. Work can take the form of office
labor or the labor intensive responsibilities of being a parent or other
responsible adult. Whether we are filling out those endless beginning of
school year forms for our children, paying bills or typing on our laptops,
do one thing that makes it all more pleasurable. Maybe your scenery isn’t a
turquoise ocean, but it still could be a garden, a lake, or a breeze
brushing your cheek. Our parents taught us work first, play second. I think
we are capable of doing both. If you can and when you can, perform your
tasks/ work in an environment that is aesthetically pleasing. It will
qualitatively improve your production. And besides, you might not mind doing
it so much. As the poster child for laboring (literally and figuratively)
Rosie the Riveter said, “We Can Do It!” Yes, we can.  

One Response to “Labor Day Lessons”

  1. When a Third World Came West September 2, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    yahoo! aww I am so glad that you are writing and getting a day to spend time at the beach….wow what are turnstones? you are plorking by the way —- play + work!

Leave a Reply

