I’m a Three-Fisted Drinker

17 Jun

Don’t you sometimes think (or at least hope) your little idiosyncrasies are invisible?  I choose to think that about mine.  Therefore, I find it a little disconcerting when friends and family members delight in calling attention to one of mine.  Ok, I admit it…I like a good beverage.  Typically when dining out I order multiple beverages.  I enjoy the little buzz I get from a glass of wine; the caffeine from my unsweetened iced tea keeps me awake and alert; and the ice water actually quenches thirst as beverages are supposed to do.  This liquid combination is really the perfect triumvirate.    

 I’m not sure whether it’s my lengthy drink order or the fact  my thirst quenching threesome encroaches on my dinner companions’ table space that attracts attention.   Whatever the cause, my tablemates can’t resist making comments such as, “there she goes again with her three drinks!”  Sometimes they even jump in to order for me.  Nevertheless, I’m undaunted. I believe in my sipping strategy.

Thus, I was so surprised when my soon to be daughter in law mentioned recently I had liberated her beverage habits.  “I thought you could only order one drink at a time.  It didn’t occur to me I could order coffee, water, etc.  I feel so free”.  I was thrilled.  This was the first time someone had actually embraced my strategy and adopted it as a ritual of their own.

Be Brave. Lose the Beige (the name of my company and blog) is about defining your life as you would like it to be.  It gently pokes fun at societal rules and norms.  It says yes, when the world around us says no.  I think my being a 3 fisted drinker is a small example of this philosophy.  Try making one change in your life; it doesn’t have to be a major one, just a baby step even, like altering your usual restaurant order.  It can be quite liberating. 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “I’m a Three-Fisted Drinker”

  1. When a Third World Came West June 17, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

    YAY! Cheers to diet coke, coffee, water, and wine all at once!

Leave a Reply

