Fiesta Ware = Color Therapy

1 Apr

The title of my blog is Be Brave. Lose the Beige.  While Be Brave. Lose the Beige is not just about color, (it’s really focused upon women’s empowerment) I am absolutely crazy about color.  I believe color can even serve as a metaphor in our quest for self discovery.  I was recently certified as a True Colors facilitator.  True Colors is a personality assessment modeled after the Myers Briggs indicator.

So, I was delighted to see and hear a story on CBS Sunday morning last week about Fiesta Ware.  Are you familiar with Fiesta Ware?  It is a line of dinnerware in a rainbow of colors which flooded into homes during the Great Depression.  In 1936, William Wells thought America’s spirits needed a boost.  He went to his designers and said, “This is what’s going to be good for the Depression:  People need to brighten up their table, people need something to be happy about.”  And that is how Fiesta got started.

I can’t help but feel we are in a similar situation in 2012.  So many families have been hurt by the economy.  I’m not suggesting fiesta ware or color will solve all our problems, but just as William Wells suggested, maybe it can make us a little happier or even more optimistic.  I know color has that effect on my life.  I hope it can for yours as well.

5 Responses to “Fiesta Ware = Color Therapy”

  1. matthewhayden April 18, 2012 at 4:58 am #

    You collect them, your mom collected them, your grandmother collected them: Fiesta dishes are attractive, functional and down-right American. Collections of multi-colored Fiesta dinnerware are also very pleasing to the eye…
    ___________________
    Fiestaware

  2. Kitten Games April 16, 2013 at 3:48 am #

    At this time it sounds like Movable Type is the
    best blogging platform available right now.
    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

  3. fiestaware April 29, 2013 at 8:10 am #

    Your style is unique compared to other people I have read stuff from.Thank you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess Iwill just bookmark this page.

  4. I enjoy what you guys tend to be up too. This
    type of clever work and reporting! Keep up the terrific works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my personal blogroll.

  5. fiestaware plates May 10, 2013 at 7:49 am #

    This web site Is Truly wonderful and amazing information maybe there is and looking so captivating.. I look and feel good to generally be here.. Keep sharing good things with buddies.. Thanks meant for sharing…

Leave a Reply

