The Sisterhood of the Poker Group

3 May

I like to say I was Jewish for eleven years.  I was married in a synagogue and my children were named by a rabbi.  Having a Jewish identity is a source of pride to them.   Even though my husband got custody of the Temple when we divorced, my history gave me the “street cred” to join a Jewish poker group.  The six of us have been meeting once a month for seventeen years to play what we loosely describe as “poker”.  Now just because two of the women are doctors, two are lawyers, one a stockbroker, and me (the market researcher, art director, clay writer) does not mean anyone has a clue about what beats what in this insipid game.  The constant query is, “Does five of a kind beat a royal straight flush?”  (this speaks volumes about the kind of game we play- the more wild cards the better). 

I grumble and threaten to change things up a bit saying I’m tired of playing what passes as poker.  But the one thing I won’t ever propose changing is our gathering together.  The original impetus for organizing our group was to form a kind of minyan (ironic since according to Jewish law, only men can be a part of the ten required to gather for a prayer service.)  Our version of a minyan resembled more of a sisterhood.   To say we achieved this goal would be an understatement.   We have shared one marriage, seven births, a conversion from Catholic to Jewish and straight to gay, five bar and bat mitzvahs, one 60th and five 50th  birthdays.  We kvetch and kvell (complain and brag) about our partners, children and each other.   

I spent the past weekend at a b’nai mitzvah for twins of Maxine .   As I watched them read their Torah portions and chant the Haftorah, I recalled a visit by the PGG (poker group girls) to the hospital where Maxine was interned for a month during her pregnancy.  We came carrying the three Cs —  Chinese food, cards and chips (the poker variety).  The PGG were honored participants in the b’nai mitzvah service, supporting the Chuppah or canopy under which the service for healing was held.  The longevity of our group has made us somewhat notorious (fun at 57 to be considered notorious).  I catch murmurings of “Oh, she’s in the poker group”.  Other friends have commented, “Someone will have to die before anyone else can join the poker group”.  That makes me feel special.  

 Our families will gather at the beach over Memorial Day weekend as we have for the past ten plus years.  All the kids and grandchildren, ranging in age from 1 to 46 will belong to each of us.  They, like us, have come to know that comfortable familiarity of belonging to a large extended family.    Whatever religion you subscribe to or not, what we all long for is that sense of belonging to something greater than ourselves.  Jewish or not, the poker group provides that sense of community and acceptance for me.

 

Let me know about your community.

One Response to “The Sisterhood of the Poker Group”

  1. When a Third World Came West May 3, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    I love that you’re a part of Jewish yapper group….they’re are lucky to have you….I think that it’s neat that you can look at it as a give-and-take, and also, that you can accept them all in the end. I love you!

Leave a Reply

