Labradoodle Love

27 Jul

My 27 year old son, his girlfriend and their labradoodle have been living with my husband and me this summer. They are currently enrolled in Ph.D. programs but don’t have classes or teaching assistant positions during the summer months.

Life has virtually stood still for me over the past couple of months. I have been so absorbed, focused, and fulfilled by the presence of these two people I adore. They are delightful adults and fun playmates. We celebrated Memorial Day weekend and the 4th of July with them at our beach place under a summer sky sparkling with color and sound from fireworks displays. Dining out is a favorite activity. Who knew we raised our kids to be such delightful dinner companions? My prospective daughter-in-law has worked with me in my summer arts enrichment program for at-risk middle school aged students. As a marriage and family therapist, she has been a wonderful addition to our project and it has been so fun sharing this experience with her. And… my husband and I have fallen in love with their labradoodle, Rusty.

This little threesome is about to embark on their journey back to Phoenix for the fall semester. It feels like I’m facing Empty Nest round 2 as my flock vacates my nest to pursue their own lives and dreams. I confess I’m a little afraid of the all too quite house and facing empty rooms formerly filled with wagging tales and smiling faces. So…in order to make the transition more palatable, we bought a labradoodle puppy this weekend. Prior to a week ago, I had not given a moment’s thought to buying a high priced pedigreed pooch. We already have a slightly crazy Bichon Frise. Why would I need a second dog? Rusty (the grown up labradoodle Zen dog), was our inspiration.

After spending a weekend of removing shoes, computer cords and newspapers from needle sharp cannine teeth and non-stop talk about puppy pooping, I’m hopelessly in love with our Jozy. She is proving to be an excellent recipient of my over stimulated maternal instincts which will need a place to be housed once my kids leave. I confess to an ulterior motive or two in buying Jozy during Katie and David’s tenure in our home. Who can resist a puppy? Especially a junior version of Rusty. And, sure enough, they couldn’t. Jozie pranced her paws right into their hearts. They loved her so much they considered buying her sister litter-mate. But maybe this means they might come visit more often. Maybe they will entertain the idea of moving back here some day. Aah, a Mom’s wishful thinking. Oh well, if the puppy helps sweeten the deal, so be it.

4 Responses to “Labradoodle Love”

  1. nancy Leclaire July 27, 2010 at 3:36 pm #

    No one can but as crazy as we are with three dogs at the moment and two cats. I feel overtaken.

  2. Diane July 29, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    It’s so nice to read that grownup children can come back as great companions! And with lovely dogs, to boot! Touche’ on your wonderful summer, Liz, and hope to see you and Jim soon.

  3. Audrey August 2, 2010 at 9:50 am #

    Dear Liz~~

    As uou know,I am not so “linked-in”;but happened to be drawn to your “Journal”! I pretty much knew what was going on with you this summer~~but so enjoyed reading your “Blog” (?)! I adore David and Katie,too!

    What a fun and serendipitous way to catch up with you,Dear Friend!

    XXXXOOOO

  4. Audrey August 2, 2010 at 9:52 am #

    P.S.I lost he “beige” (andwhite) the day I was born!

Leave a Reply

