Cupcake vs. Macaroon Snackdown (oops! Smackdown)

29 Apr

 

Listening to All things Considered on NPR a couple of months ago, I heard a story entitled, “Move over Cupcake: Make room for the Macaroon”. The article referenced a food blogger who said the macaroon is in a trend war to become the new cupcake. The implication being cupcakes were the trendy dessert of choice for the sophisticated set throughout the previous decade. The macaroon is now positioning itself to become the cupcake’s replacement. Be Brave, lose the Beige says, “oh, contraire!” The cupcake is timeless not trendy.

Marcel Proust, the French Shakespeare, wrote about biting into a Madeleine cookie from which an involuntary memory occurred, a remembrance of things past. Cupcakes are America’s version of the Madeleine cookie. Biting into one of those dollops of deliciousness, with their fluffy folds of frosting, transports us to a more frivolous time in our lives, a more playful time, maybe even our childhood when we weren’t focused on responsibilities, obligations, and our incessant to-do lists. Can the macaroon ever make this claim? I think not!

Let your voice be heard on this issue. Leave your comments below.

3 Responses to “Cupcake vs. Macaroon Snackdown (oops! Smackdown)”

  1. storytellersrus May 3, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    I do like coconut macaroons but I have no emotional attachment to it. But I have little attachment to cupcakes either! I do have enormous memories associated with pies and cakes. Pumpkin because my Gram made the most amazing pies at Thanksgiving and died two weeks before she had time to fulfill the promise of a pumpkin birthday pie for my 19th birthday. And angel food cake because my mother made the most amazing orange frosting to top it all off. While I cannot help you out in this debate, I do enjoy reading all of your proofs! Thanks.

  2. storytellersrus May 3, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

    I do like coconut macaroons but I have no emotional attachment to them. But I have little attachment to cupcakes either!

    I do have enormous memories associated with pies and cakes:

    + Pumpkin because my Gram made the most amazing pies at Thanksgiving and died two weeks before she had time to fulfill the promise of a pumpkin birthday pie for my 19th birthday.

    +And angel food cake because my mother made the most amazing orange frosting to top it all off.

    While I cannot help you out in this debate, I do enjoy reading all of your proofs! Thanks.

    • lizkitchens May 13, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

      Thanks, I love pie.

Leave a Reply

