What’s In Your Empty Nest?

17 Sep

“What’s in Your Empty Nest?” is a question we should ask ourselves as we rebuild our nests and make room for our own dreams. And sure, there will still be some “room” (although perhaps a shared one alongside your guitar, art supplies and exercise equipment) for the kids to come home on the weekends. It is possible, though, to create a fun, interesting life after your nest empties, fills back up, and empties out again.What's In your Empty Nest?

3 Responses to “What’s In Your Empty Nest?”

  1. jackie September 19, 2009 at 12:36 pm #

    I have just been taking some time to explore your site today and I must say, IT’S INCREDIBLE! Listened to your interview and am awed by how articulate you are. There’s so much here that I will return later and have more fun. I have been thinking about our conversation the other day (it hasn’t been forgotten) I am so drawn to the idea of work being more fun. let’s talk soon.

    • lizkitchens September 22, 2009 at 1:31 pm #

      Thank you, Jackie. I’m honored.

  2. Scrollwork April 20, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    I have this guilt about loving my empty nest. I had looked forward to it for so long! My middle daughter re-nested for a few months in between leases, to my dismay, but as soon as she left I filled the nest up with the accoutrements of my new passion for creating wearable art.

    Now when any of my 3 girls wants to spend a holiday week or even just a night, it’s a big production just to make space in their former rooms. My youngest one assures me I earned this phase of life, this blooming of my identity quite apart from my roles as wife and mother. For her to say that is all the evidence I need that I raised them to be considerate, not self-centered.

Leave a Reply

