Cruise Journaling

11 Sep

I’ve written a couple of blog posts about Journaling.  Journaling has become such an important part of my daily ritual over the past ten years, I don’t want to do without it. But I view this activity as a private one and don’t care to share it with anyone else.

A couple of weeks ago I was on a 50th birthday cruise and shared a cabin with a friend. Each morning I would literally sneak out of our cabin, capture a cup of cappuccino and hunt for a secret space in which to write my thoughts as I contemplated my day, weekend, and life. (Quiet place on a cruise ship is an oxymoron, let me assure you). I had to laugh at myself as I settled into the giant theater (where no salsa music was playing and the view of the ocean was fabulous) at the lengths I would resort to just to be able to engage in this 45 minutes of me time.

Grab a spiral notebook and 15 minutes today and jot down a few random thoughts. Try this three times a week. See how it feels. Let me know one thing you discover.

Leave a Reply

