I Hate My Purse

25 Aug

I created a clay sculpture entitled “I Hate My Purse” for a Power of the Purse silent auction event to benefit women and children’s issues. The piece was inspired by a chapter (titled “I hate My Purse”) in Nora Ephron’s “I Feel Bad about my Neck and other Thoughts on Being a Woman.”

I was reading this chapter aloud to my husband, while we were on an airplane. I was laughing so hard tears were rolling down my face. I could barely speak the words. Every woman I know could relate to these words: (the following is an excerpt)

“Here is what happens with your purse. You start small. You start pledging yourself to neatness. You start with the things you absolutely need…but within seconds your purse has accumulated the debris of a lifetime. The cosmetics have fallen out of the shiny cosmetics bag (okay, you forgot to zip it up), the coins have fallen out of your wallet (okay you have forgotten to fasten the coin compartment), the credit cards are somewhere in the abyss (okay you forgot to put your VISA back in your wallet after you bought the sunblock that is now oozing into the lining..”

I created my “I Hate My Purse” piece to illustrate the kind of “purse chaos” described by Nora Ephron in her hysterically funny essay. Here is an outside and inside photo of it.Outside of "I hate my purse" pieceInterior of "I hate My Purse"

3 Responses to “I Hate My Purse”

  1. texastrailerparktrash August 28, 2009 at 9:14 pm #

    I LOVE your purse! I just finished reading Nora’s book, but I tend to go the other way and like purses too much. It’s a sickness, I know. I’d buy yours in a second! Good luck with the auction.

  2. Patrick September 14, 2009 at 9:39 am #

    As a man, I too question the sanity of anyone with a big purse. It appears that the bigger the purse, the bigger the opportunity to either become insane or maintain the insanity of owner. When does the organization of one’s personal effects become trumped by the capability to bring more stuff to make your life “easier”? Oh, well a big, cluttered purse may be the sign of a cluttered, disorganized mind? Oh well, enough postulating from a person who never carries a purse and holds all valuables in a wallet the size of a deck of cards, and two front pockets. 🙂

    • lizkitchens September 17, 2009 at 1:23 pm #

      Thank you. I like the perspective of a man.

Leave a Reply

